A Million Dollar Face

My main concern is skin health. When I meet with a new client my goal is to help him/her reach their desired outcome. In order for me to do so that requires regular scheduled appointments as well as a customized skincare regimen that will yield beautiful results. I am sometimes faced with the disappointing question “why does this product cost so much”? I think I’ll just stick with my products from (XYZ) because I like it and it’s a lot cheaper.

I am often confused why people are willing to spend hundreds of dollars on shoes, handbags, clothes, etc, but will not invest in the only face they have.   It really hurts me to see a woman rocking a $300-$400 handbag, but has terrible skin. You can truly have beautiful skin if you desire but it takes time, commitment, patience, the help of a qualified professional and $$$$$.

I reference skincare products in two ways:

  1. Over the counter (aka OTC) these are products that you can purchase anywhere such as drug stores, department stores, mass merchandisers, etc.
  2. Professional products items that you would purchase from a skincare professional and/or professional outlets (Esthetician, spa, etc.).

Check out the easy reference below comparing over the counter and professional products.

Over-the Counter Products Professional Products
Low percentage of active ingredients (if the % is too low there is little to no effect on the skin). High level of active ingredients (will give you results over time). It’s also more concentrated so you don’t have to use as much.
Contains fillers that take away from the overall product. Appeals to the senses/smells good. Chirally correct (contains only the side of the molecule with the ability to give desired results).
Most have a high pH pH adjusted
Contain dyes & fragrances Do not contain dyes & fragrances
Products made with large molecules (no penetration) Products made with small molecules (better penetration).
Sits on the skin & may feel good Penetrates the skin & treats the condition
Made in large batches Made in small batches (less likely to sit on shelves for long) 

QUICK EXAMPLE

I met with a client that used a particular OTC product for her issues with breakouts. She was purchasing a cleanser for the bargain price of $10 and it happened to contain only .05% of Salicylic Acid (which is nothing) versus the $30 cleanser I sold her (that worked by the way) that contained 2% Salicylic. Thirty dollars for a cleanser that lasted for 2 months (about fifty cents per day) is pretty reasonable in my opinion.

Next time you’re ready to purchase skincare and you want to see results contact a licensed Esthetician. You can always contact me at Flawless Beauty by Tamika on Facebook for products and services.

Be Beautiful!

Be beautiful!

Leave a comment