Wax, Tweeze or Thread?

On a daily basis I often hear 3 statements in regards to hair removal that continue to frustrate me. I do believe it’s all a matter of preference, but it’s best to try them all in order to know what works best for you. I’ll make this short and sweet.

#1 “I PREFER THREADING BECAUSE IT LASTS LONGER”

Waxing, tweezing and threading are three different methods of hair removal, but all have the same end result. You are simply pulling hair from the root. If you feel as if your hair grows back faster with other techniques it could be that the person you had perform the service wasn’t trained properly and is breaking the hairs off versus pulling from the root. Breaking hairs off would be like shaving (only getting the surface hair) and will certainly start to grow back in a couple of days. It could also be something has changed within your body (hormones, have you started or ended a new medication, etc.).

#2       “THREADING IS BETTER FOR THE SKIN”

I agree with this statement somewhat, but when stated it sounds as if waxing is bad for the skin. Most people are only waxing once every 4-6 weeks, which is not so often that it will damage the skin.

#3       “WAXING CAUSES WRINKLES”

This statement truly makes me laugh.   When waxing the skin has to be stretched tight in order to get the wax precisely where it needs to be and to prevent lifting / bruising.  Stretching the skin once every 4-6 weeks isn’t going to cause you wrinkles.   Exposure to the sun without SPF, smoking, drinking, bad diet, etc. is what causes wrinkles.

I personally love waxing because it’s quick and gets all the peach fuzz, but to each his own.

I hope this info was helpful. Please feel free to contact me on FB at anytime with any questions at Flawless Beauty by Tamika.

Be beautiful

Tamika (Licensed Esthetician)

1 thought on “Wax, Tweeze or Thread?”

Leave a comment